Cemile Sahin, Center Shift #01: I start again, 2019, film still © Cemile Sahin

The Junge Akademie's work presentations show 14 international artists with works created during the artist-in-residence programme 2019 at the Akademie der Künste. New concepts or further developments include ideas that deal with the emergence and expressiveness of narratives and pictorial worlds, artificial intelligence and digitalisation, and which make use of various media and disciplines.

   more
Timm Ulrichs, “... aus Gedankenfluss und Bewusstseinsstrom ...”, 1977/78. Photo: Rudolf Wakonigg, Münster © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020

Far from the centres of the art world, Timm Ulrichs works tirelessly as a self-appointed 'total artist' in a wide range of genres. His oeuvre comprises conceptual work, object art, environments, performances, multimedia work and concrete poetry. The exhibition “Weiter im Text”, which takes place on the occasion of the Käthe Kollwitz Prize 2020, explores his artistic notion of the end of the sayable and unsayable with a selection of expansive works, prints, objects and films.

   more
Cymatics. Photo: Caspar Johannes Walter

With “Labor Beethoven 2020”, the Akademie der Künste presents a contemporary reading of the Beethoven Anniversary. A festival condenses the musical and interdisciplinary results of the four-year artistic cooperation by a group of young composers, musicians and artists from the three universities of Basel, Tel Aviv and Thessaloniki. With concerts, exhibition, installations, lectures, music theatre and performances.

   more
Picture Cellar, in the foreground mural by Harald Metzkes and Manfred Böttcher © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018, photo: Andreas FranzXaver Süß

Picture Cellar
3 Oct 2018 – 31 Dez 2020

Exhibition

A series of murals, which were created in 1957 and 1958 for two Faschingsfeste (Carnival events), have been preserved in the former coal cellars of the Akademie building on Pariser Platz. Painted by Manfred Böttcher, Harald Metzkes, Ernst Schroeder and Horst Zickelbein – former master students at the Deutsche Akademie der Künste – they are the only original remnants in the historic building apart from the exhibition halls. Access to the Picture Cellar is only possible on a guided tour.

   more
Akademie der Künste at Hanseatenweg. Photo © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk
Akademie der Künste at Hanseatenweg. Photo © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk

The Akademie der Künste in Berlin is one of the oldest cultural institutes in Europe. It is an international community of artists that currently totals 419 members in its six Sections (Visual Arts, Architecture, Music, Literature, Performing Arts, Film and Media Arts). The Akademie is an exhibition and event location. A key component of the Akademie are its archives, which collectively form one of the most important interdisciplinary archives on 20th century art.

   more
Photo: Records from the Prussian Academy of Arts © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk, 2016
Photo: Records from the Prussian Academy of Arts © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk, 2016

The Archives at the Akademie der Künste may be used free of charge for scholarly, private, or press research. Since December 2015, the Archives Database offers a regularly updated online digital research tool. The database contains information on all of the collections in the Archives, which comprise around 1,020,000 archival materials as well as approximately 462,000 analogue and digital copies of archival materials.

   more

Timm Ulrichs, “... aus Gedankenfluss und Bewusstseinsstrom ...”, 1977/78. Photo: Rudolf Wakonigg, Münster © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020
Sunday, 23 Feb
Tour

12 pm

Hanseatenweg

Halle 1

Käthe-Kollwitz-Preis 2020.
Timm Ulrichs: "Weiter im Text"

The exhibition “Weiter im Text” (Continue in the Text), which takes place on the occasion of the Käthe Kollwitz Prize 2020, explores the artistic notion by the “total artist” Timm Ulrichs with a selection of expansive works, prints, objects and films. Guided tour with Timm Ulrichs and Anke Hervol. In German.

   more
Gisela May with Henschel employees at a publishing exhibition in Warsaw, ca. 1974, Akademie der Künste, Archiv Henschelverlag. Photo © Günter Linke
Wednesday, 26 Feb
Archive Opening

7 pm

Pariser Platz

Plenarsaal

Art Publishers. The Henschelverlag in the GDR

Henschelverlag, with its range of publications that put the fields music, film, theatre and the visual arts on an equal footing with entertainment art forms such as cabaret and variety, was not just unique in the GDR. The publishing house's archive at the Akademie documents print culture and censorship in the GDR. Archive opening with Jenny Erpenbeck, Franziska Galek, Irina Liebmann, Christoph Links, Konstantin Ulmer et al. In German.

   more

Please click here to view all events and exhibitions.

Upcoming

John Heartfield – Photography Plus Dynamite 21 March – 21 June 2020 more

Cemile Sahin, Center Shift #01: I start again, 2019, Filmstill © Cemile Sahin

In der Werkpräsentation der Jungen Akademie zeigen 14 internationale Künstler*innen Arbeiten, die im Rahmen des Artist-in-Residence-Programms 2019 an der Akademie der Künste entstanden sind. Neukonzipiert oder weiter-entwickelt wurden u. a. Ideen, die sich mit der Entstehung und Aussagekraft von Narrationen und Bildwelten, mit künstlicher Intelligenz und Digitalisierung auseinander-setzen und sich dabei verschiedener Medien und Disziplinen bedienen.

   mehr
Timm Ulrichs, „... aus Gedankenfluss und Bewusstseinsstrom ...“, 1977/78. Foto: Rudolf Wakonigg, Münster © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020

Fernab der Kunstzentren arbeitet Timm Ulrichs als selbsternannter „Totalkünstler“ unermüdlich in den unterschiedlichsten Genres. Die Ausstellung „Weiter im Text“, die anlässlich des Käthe-Kollwitz-Preises 2020 stattfindet, ergründet mit einer Auswahl von raumgreifenden Werken, Druckgrafik, Objekten und Filmen seine künstlerische Vorstellung vom Ende des Sagbaren und Unsagbaren.

   mehr
Cymatics. Foto: Caspar Johannes Walter

Mit „Labor Beethoven 2020“ präsentiert die Akademie der Künste eine zeitgenössische Lesart des Beethoven-Jubiläums. Ein Festival verdichtet die musikalischen und interdisziplinären Ergebnisse der vierjährigen künstlerischen Zusammenarbeit einer Gruppe junger Komponist*innen, Musiker*innen und Künstler*innen aus den drei Hochschulen Basel, Tel Aviv und Thessaloniki. Mit Konzerten, einer Ausstellung, Installationen, Lectures, Musiktheater und Performances.

   mehr
Blick in den Bilderkeller, im Vordergrund Wandbild von Harald Metzkes und Manfred Böttcher © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018, Foto: Andreas FranzXaver Süß

Bilderkeller
3.10.2018 – 31.12.2020

Ausstellung

Im ehemaligen Kohlenkeller des Akademie-Gebäudes am Pariser Platz hat sich eine Reihe von Wandbildern erhalten, die 1957 und 1958 für zwei Faschingsfeste entstanden waren. Gemalt von Manfred Böttcher, Harald Metzkes, Ernst Schroeder und Horst Zickelbein – ehemaligen Meisterschülern der Deutschen Akademie der Künste – sind sie neben den Ausstellungssälen der einzige originale Rest des historischen Gebäudes. Der Zugang zum Bilderkeller ist nur im Rahmen einer Führung möglich.

   mehr
Akademie der Künste am Hanseatenweg. Foto © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk
Akademie der Künste am Hanseatenweg. Foto © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk

Die Akademie der Künste, Berlin, gehört zu den ältesten europäischen Kulturinstituten. Sie ist eine internationale Gemeinschaft von Künstlern und hat in ihren sechs Sektionen Bildende Kunst, Baukunst, Musik, Literatur, Darstellende Kunst, Film- und Medienkunst derzeit insgesamt 419 Mitglieder. Die Akademie ist ein Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsort. Das Archiv der Akademie zählt zu den bedeutendsten interdisziplinären Archiven zur Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts.

   mehr
Foto: Akten der Preußischen Akademie der Künste, © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk, 2016
Foto: Akten der Preußischen Akademie der Künste, © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk, 2016

Die Nutzung des Archivs der Akademie der Künste ist für wissenschaftliche, publizistische oder private Studien kostenfrei möglich. Mit der Archivdatenbank steht ein elektronisches Rechercheinstrument online zur Verfügung, mit dem sich detaillierte Informationen zu 1.020.000 Archivalien und 462.000 analogen wie digitalen Objekten abrufen lassen.

   mehr

Neuigkeiten aus der Akademie

Alfred-Döblin-Stipendien in Wewelsfleth 2020mehr

Heinrich-Mann-Preis 2020 an Eva Hornmehr

Soeben erschienen: SINN UND FORM, Heft 1/2020mehr

Timm Ulrichs, „... aus Gedankenfluss und Bewusstseinsstrom ...“, 1977/78. Foto: Rudolf Wakonigg, Münster © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2020
Sonntag, 23.2.
Führung

12 Uhr

Hanseatenweg

Halle 1

Käthe-Kollwitz-Preis 2020.
Timm Ulrichs: Weiter im Text

Die Ausstellung „Weiter im Text“, die anlässlich des Käthe-Kollwitz-Preises 2020 stattfindet, ergründet mit einer Auswahl von raumgreifenden Werken, Druckgrafiken, Objekten und Filmen die künstlerische Vorstellung des „Totalkünstlers“ Timm Ulrichs. Im Zentrum steht der Künstler selbst, sein Körper, Geist und gesellschaftlicher und urbaner Umraum. Ausstellungsrundgang mit Timm Ulrichs und Anke Hervol. In deutscher Sprache.

   mehr
Gisela May mit Henschel-Mitarbeitern auf einer Verlagsausstellung in Warschau, ca. 1974, Akademie der Künste, Archiv Henschelverlag. Foto © Günter Linke
Mittwoch, 26.2.
Archiveröffnung

19 Uhr

Pariser Platz

Plenarsaal

Verlag der Künste. Der Henschelverlag in der DDR

Mit seinem Buchprogramm, das die Gebiete Musik, Film, Theater und bildende Künste gleichberechtigt neben unterhaltende Kunstformen wie Kabarett und Varieté stellte, war der Henschelverlag nicht nur in der DDR ein Unikum. Das Verlagsarchiv in der Akademie der Künste gibt Auskunft über ein Stück Kultur- und Zensurgeschichte der DDR. Archiveröffnung mit Jenny Erpenbeck, Franziska Galek, Irina Liebmann, Christoph Links, Konstantin Ulmer u. a. In deutscher Sprache.

   mehr

Alle Veranstaltungen und Ausstellungen finden Sie hier.

Vorschau

John Heartfield – Fotografie plus Dynamit 21. März – 21. Juni 2020 mehr